Tenerife’s tourism associations applaud the Ministry’s decision to name 2023 the year of ‘Sun, Beach and Blue’

The Alliance of Tourist Municipalities "Sun and Beach" (AMT) and the Association of Tourist Municipalities of the Canary Islands (ATMC) are pleased to see their work and efforts recognized

As the Spanish Government confirmed at the last Tourism Sector Council its support for ‘Sun and Beach and Blue’ concept as a priority for tourism 2023, the industry expressed its satistaction with this strategic approach.

In the Canary Islands, the Alliance of Tourist Municipalities ‘Sun and Beach’ (ATM), and the Association of Tourist Municipalities of the Canary Islands (ATMC) applauded to the decision describing it as a much deserved recognition of the uniqueness and importance of the Sun and Beach sector.

Both the president of the ATM ‘Sun and Beach’ and mayor of Salou, Pere Granados, and the president of the ATMC and mayor of Adeje, José Miguel Rodríguez Fraga, stressed the importance of achieving this support for the Sun and Beach destinations being the leaders of the country’s tourism sector.

According to these developments, the ‘Sun and Beach’ municipalities will be now integrated into the Tourism Intelligence Platform, based in Benidorm and promoted by Segittur (State Trading Company for the Management of Innovation and Tourist Technologies), which will develop its pilot project in the member towns of the associations, positioning themselves as smart destinations while implementing in the process the best techniques for their management.

In this line, the ATM and the ATMC emphasise that strengthening Sun and Beach tourism, especially in well-established destinations that are both the pioneers in the sector and also a foundation for the development of the tourism industry in Spain, is the best way to ensure the efforts are focused on recovering the level of activity, investment and employment that the sector can create.

About the ATM “Sun and Beach”

The Alliance of Tourist Municipalities ‘Sun and Beach’ (ATM) was created in 2017 with the initiative of eight pioneering tourist destinations in Spain, such as Adeje, Arona, Benidorm, Calviá, Lloret de Mar, Salou, San Bartolomé de Tirajana and Torremolinos. The key objectives are to address the problems affecting the financing of tourist municipalities and the commitment to the digitisation of the sector, sustainability, accessibility and cooperation between destinations.

About the ATMC

Founded in 2016, the Association of Tourist Municipalities of the Canary Islands is made up of Adeje, Arona, Guía de Isora, Mogán, San Bartolomé de Tirajana, Pájara, Puerto de la Cruz, Santiago del Teide, Antigua, La Oliva, Tías, Teguise and Yaiza. Between these municipalities, they account for 80% of the Canary Islands’ income. The ATMC has set itself up as the interlocutor of the municipalities that are the economic engine of the archipelago.

Scroll to Top